Everywhere But Here

A bit of this, a bit of that; ADHD at it's finest.

Not All Stimulant Medications Are Created Equal


Stimulant medication is usually the first thing a doctor will prescribe for the reduction of ADHD symptoms.  But these medications do not behave the same way in my case.  I was first prescribed Ritalin several years ago and it worked perfectly; the problem was that it is such a short-acting med that I was taking 2 or 3 a day, as prescribed. I wanted something longer lasting so I opted to try Vyvanse.  It has not worked beautifully.  Though these drugs are in the same catergory, they work very differently.  The Ritalin made me calm, focused, nice, patient, and smart.  Vyvanse, on the other hand, makes me feel like I’m an idiot. Sure it calms me a bit but that’s where it ends.  And, I wanted to explain that my posts are so short because I am on Vyvanse, and it does not help the focus.

Have a wonderful Tuesday everyone!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 28, 2017 by in Add, adhd, adult adhd, mental health, Ritalin, stimulant medication, Vyvanse and tagged , , , , , , .
Follow Everywhere But Here on WordPress.com
