Everywhere But Here

A bit of this, a bit of that; ADHD at it's finest.

Living With And Loving My ADD


At 27 years old, I was diagnosed with ADD. I was relieved to finally know what was wrong with me. I was never able to get myself going in life; in relationships, in parenting, in college.  All that spinning-my-stationary-tires took a toll and caused me great angst.  I was depressed, to say the least, and frustrated.  Why on earth couldn’t I get it together and be a productive part of society, as it seemed all my peers were.

A moment of realization occurred when I first started taking ADD medication,  the medication made me more mainstream, but they took away some of the positives of this “disorder”.  With one swift swallow of a pill, all of my creativity and out-of-the-box thoughts and ideas were gone!  Sure the medicine did exactly what it was supposed to do, but at what cost?  Do I want to be creative or calm, sociable or quiet?  Literally it’s like one extreme or the other.

At the end of the day, I have to be able to accept myself!  That was much of the problem; I was trying so hard to be more “mainstream” like everyone else; that made self-acceptance impossible. So now I’ve learned to love ME, ADD and all!

3 comments on “Living With And Loving My ADD

  1. Jade Olive Sage
    March 28, 2016

    You are managing a relationship with adult ADD and that is an accomplishment. I have not mastered that as of yet. I’ve been married, I’ve birthed two children that I was unable to raise as relationships, closeness and intimacy just escapes me. I have extreme creativity, eccentricity and perhaps even oddities. The medication that I take helps me to focus so that I am not going in five directions at once but yet standing still. It helps me to complete tasks and have a little focus if just for a minute so to speak. I was always different. Lived the majority of my life as different.

    Like

    • karitaber2015
      March 28, 2016

      Relationships are very difficult for me; I have 6 kids, 4 baby-daddies, and I’m on my 3rd marriage. Closeness and intimacy… What’s that?

      Like

      • Jade Olive Sage
        March 28, 2016

        Now I know you! 😄

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 24, 2015 by in adult adhd and tagged , , , , , , , .
Follow Everywhere But Here on WordPress.com
