Everywhere But Here

A bit of this, a bit of that; ADHD at it's finest.

The Right Diagnosis


I have always known that getting an ADD diagnosis as an adult is not always an easy thing to do; but oh, so important. If you are a male child who cannot sit through dinner, you’re diagnosed immediately with having ADHD. But, if you’re a 20 or 30 something adult who’s life is still going nowhere and your relationships are failing, it must be something else.
I’ve had my ADD diagnosis for 12 years now but, was recently diagnosed as having bi-polar disorder (along with, possibly instead of ADD). I’ve been taking medications for both disorders with unfavorable side effects. I know myself, I live in this head of mine and I am sure as any doctor that my initial diagnosis of ADD is correct.
I have a new psyc now who agrees. The Bi-Polar diagnosis is wrong and I’m just severely ADD. Whew! I knew that all along.
Bottom line is, it is very important to be diagnosed correctly when dealing with psyc issues. The medications for these disorders are very powerful psycotropic drugs that can have serious emotional side effects and can make mental issues much worse.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 22, 2015 by in Add, adhd, adult adhd, disorders, mental health, stimulant medication and tagged , , , , , .
Follow Everywhere But Here on WordPress.com
